Another day coming to an end and I don’t have much to say, well let me put it this way.  Some days you eat the bear, and some days the bear bends you over and has his way with you.

It started well with my boy Elroy waking me up in his bouncy Tigger like way.   I had a breakfast of plums, almonds, and cashews, then I wandered my way to school for an excitable day of phase changes and the Law of Conservation of Matter.  For the sake of my sanity I am not going to discuss the day, but it had it ups, its downs, its ins and outs, and its bad breaks.

Today our soccer team came together to play 30 minutes of great soccer, we were up to a 3-0 lead.  For 30 minutes we were a soccer team.  But then we collapsed, we got too comfortable and we just sort of coasted into a 4-3 loss.   The game was meaningless to our post season, but it had ramifications on our psyche.   I felt myself age in those 80 minutes, watching our lead dwindle, I realized that my passion for winning far outweighed the teams passion for winning…..and that is a problem.  A team will never win if the coach wants it more than the players.

So now I have to figure out, in 48 hours.  How to make the team want it more than me.   I am not sure if it is possible.  I am an extremely passionate person with an intense drive.  But I just don’t see it in the players and students around me.

The only thing I can do to inspire them is consistently show up and come at them with that passion and hope it spreads.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

